History was made last night. It’s a long road ahead…

Congrats to President-Elect Barack Obama on his election as the 44th President of the United States. By winning the election, he (among other things)–

  • becomes the first African-American President
  • the first President to be born in the 1960s (he was born in 1961)
  • and the first in several years to bring young children to the White House. His daughters are 7 and 10 years old.

While I was goofing around on the internet waiting for his acceptance speech, I learned that Michelle Obama shares the same birthday as my friend Cynthia who died this past June. So while Mrs. Obama will turn 45 on January 17, 2009, Cynthia will not.

And, I would be remiss if I didn’t also congratulate John McCain for running a great campaign. He gave an eloquent concession speech last night. I almost missed it because I had the sound off, but what I did hear was heartfelt and sincere.

As for his running mate Sarah Palin… I think we’ll be hearing more from her in the years ahead. At least, I hope so.

Obama has a long road ahead of him. He now not only has to live up to the things he talked about while campaigning for President, but he also has to clean up the mess that George Bush made of this country. Two wars, a sinking economy, and enough debt to choke a team of elephants… yep, Obama has a long, tough road ahead.

Come January 20th, he’ll be our President. Now is not the time to fight each other over stupid stuff (playing the blame game, if you will). We need to help our President repair our reputation with the world. After all, a house divided cannot stand.

That’s all from where I sit.

–MorelaterZ–

One thought on “History was made last night. It’s a long road ahead…

Leave a Reply

