Obama’s speech

I’m watching the President’s speech, and I like what I’ve heard so far. Since a lot of what is going on in our country affects ALL of us, we really should be listening.

The “Big Three” for me, personally:

  • Jobs
  • Healthcare
  • Education

Let me go through these one at a time:

Jobs: People around me are losing their jobs, jobs they’ve had for years, because their companies can no longer pay them. Finding jobs in this crisis is next to impossible. Unemployment is at an all time high, and people who never dreamed that they’d have to draw Unemployment and/or other public assistance are doing just that. How demoralizing that is, speaking from personal experience. The President said early in his address that three-quarters of Americans have just a high school education, and jobs need people who have more than that. This is why I am in school. Yes, I have an Associate’s degree, but even that isn’t enough. I need that Bachelor’s degree to get the jobs that pay more than minimum wage, that have benefits, that have staying power. I just cannot live like I have been living for the last 9 years.

Healthcare: I have been without health insurance since 2002. That scares me because I’m getting older, and a major illness would not only bankrupt me, but probably would kill me. Literally. Since I can’t afford to get sick, I just keep on keepin’ on, and pray that something like cancer or heart disease doesn’t touch my life. I’m luckier than most, I guess because there are doctors in my family, but were I to become seriously ill, it would all be on me, and I just can’t do it. And while the President didn’t say anything about universal healthcare, I believe with all my heart that is what this country needs, so that EVERYONE will have coverage not only for the minor illnesses, but for the major ones as well.

Education: I have a son who will go to college in the fall, and the cost of tuition keeps going up. Loans and grants will be harder to obtain. Part of the stimulus package will provide for that. More money so those who do work to obtain a college level education can afford to go to school and get the education needed to get the jobs that will see them through to eventual careers.  I started late to the college game, but I’ll be able to take advantage of this as well.

I can’t retire for 22 more years, and I can’t live those 22 years like I’ve lived the last nine. Will I even be able to retire in 22 years, and if I do, will there be Social Security waiting for me?

These are important issues, not only to me, but to many Americans today. We Americans are NOT QUITTERS! And we ain’t gonna start now.

Overall, a good speech. I actually sat through the whole thing. The President had my attention. Now, lets see if these things truly come to pass. I hope and pray they will.

That’s all from where I sit.

–MorelaterZ–

Leave a Reply

