I should be in bed now, but I’m not

This is what happens when you fall asleep in the middle of the 6pm news and wake up after dinner time.

Not that the 6pm news (or the 5pm or 4:30pm) is boring, but for the love of the deity of your choice, do they have to go on and on (and ON) about the freakin’ economy? Yeah, the economy sucks right now. Do we need constant reminders of this? We have the highest unemployment rate in 25 years, so yeah, lots of people are out of work. The stock market is tanking, Bernie Mad(e)off decided to plead guilty, and Obama is doing the best he can with what and who has to work with.

Oh, and stop making Michelle Obama into the next Jackie Kennedy, okay? Right now, I can’t even afford to walk into Walmart, much less go to some trendy overpriced store to copy the First Lady’s look.

I’m sure Mrs. Obama is a nice woman, but come on people… let’s not make her into a fashion icon quite yet, k?

=====

I’m reading “The Awakening” by Kate Chopin for American Lit, and Lord, this book is so depressing! I’m about 3/4 of the way thru it and on Thursday, the discussion centered on what happens to the main character, Edna Pontillier, at the end. That’s probably why I’m finding it so hard to read. Now that I know what to look for, the foreshadowing is bringing me down!

Didn’t anyone in the 19th century write books that were not so, well, bleak?

I realize that the times back then dictated certain roles for women, and they were written about faithfully, especially by Chopin. I could have never lived back then. I’m too headstrong to be some man’s “possession” instead of a wife and mother.

Nope. Not a chance. I’d probably end up like Edna, except for what happens to her at the end. I don’t have the guts for that.

=====

And, I have the nagging feeling that my life is going to change, and it’s not going to be good.

=====

That’s all from where I sit.

–MorelaterZ–

😐 it was 4 yrs ago that we met. will anything ever come of what’s happened between us since then?
Leave a Reply

