Distorted voices make people sound like they’re on helium

The good news: I have some of my hearing back.

The bad news: Everyone sounds like they’re on helium, complete with high pitched voices.

The meds are working. The draining of my right ear has stopped for the most part. The infection cleared up in my sinuses, and the meds are working on the infection in my ears. Which is why what I can hear sounds so distorted.

=====

I registered for classes for the fall semester this afternoon. I got everything wanted class wise. I’m taking -gulp- 16 credit hours (and three won’t count because I’m taking the math class I had to drop earlier this semester again). I’ll be taking my first ever night class in the fall, too. I just couldn’t find a  Spanish 2 class during the day that wasn’t when I was already taking something else.

Three of the five classes are in my major, and I got in all the ones I wanted on the first try! That’s a first!

All in all I’m a happy camper. Today at least.

=====

I got to talk to people today that I haven’t talked to in a long time. And talked to some I talk to all the time. Some offered encouragement, and some gave me a hard time. Because of the thing with my ears, I’m not really in the mood to be given a hard time. I realize it’s just me overreacting, but it still hurts a little, because it came from someone I like spending time with, and he’s too busy to make time for that, I guess.

Another offered encouragement because he knows how hard it has been for me to go back to school in my 40’s. I haven’t seen this person since late 2002, so it’s been over 6 years since he and I had a long talk about life. Being sick doesn’t help, and he knows that. He’s been there a time or two himself.

=====

Now, I need to go read some poetry by Robert Frost, who was raised in Lawrence, Massachusetts (and like me, born in California). Sometimes, I really miss living in New England, and glad I don’t now because Jon is still there. After not seeing him on a near daily basis for seven years, I don’t think I could ever be in his presence again without wanting to knock some sense into that stupid head of his. I am not the 15 year old girl he met in 1979 anymore, and he won’t accept that apparently. The comments he made about my hair are testiment to that. It’s sad, really.

If I had to stay a little closer to where I am now, I wouldn’t mind living in Mid-Del again. When Tori and Dean moved into their new house last month, I realized that our whole family lives in Edmond now. I kinda liked being the one who didn’t. Because of having no car and needing to be close to school, I found myself back here again. No one from Mid-Del wants to make the trip to Edmond to see me, and they all know I can’t come down there unless I borrow a car. I don’t want to lose those friendships because of the distance and the reluctance to come up here. It’s just Edmond, not the f’n moon for cryin’ out loud! I don’t ask for a whole lot, just some companionship with people to whom I’m not related by blood or marriage.

Okay, okay, I’ve rambled on long enough. I’ll close it here for now.

Miss our good times, Cowboy…

That’s all from where I sit.

–MorelaterZ–

Leave a Reply

