The Post in which Stef is sure to piss some people off…

The other day, while on the bus going somewhere, I saw a bumper sticker on a truck that said:

“YOU CAN’T BE CATHOLIC AND PRO CHOICE”

Wanna bet?

Okay, I know the Church teaches that abortion is wrong, is murder, etc., etc., ad nausea… but I consider myself a Catholic and I believe that a woman should have the choice to do with her body what she will. She is the one who has to live with her decision for the rest of her life.

However, that has never been and never will be a choice I could make. I get upset when I hit the occasion errant creature with my car, so there is no way I could even consider ending a pregnancy because it was “inconvenient”. Even in the case of possibly giving birth to a handicapped child.

But since I had my tubal ligation some 12 years ago, I don’t have to worry about that happening. I still think a woman should have the choice to end a pregnancy via abortion regardless of her religious beliefs, or lack thereof. As I said, it is she who’ll have to live with the consequences of her actions, not me, not you, and not the Catholic Church.

With that, I am stepping off my soapbox now.

That’s all from where I sit.

–MorelaterZ–

Leave a Reply

