I’m so freakin’ mad at myself…

I have an assignment due in my 11am class tomorrow, and I was going to work on it at school after Spanish class…

I left it at home, in the notebook I had written the draft in. It has to be typed up a certain way, and my trial version of Word expired months ago. So I was going to type it up here and save it to the Pink Jumpdrive and print it out tomorrow.

I’ll just have to come to school early in the morning and work on it. It’s done, it just needs to be typed up in the format that the prof requires.

=====

I noticed that there were a few visitors to my previous post about the president’s speech this morning. I didn’t get to see it because I was in class, but I think I can see it when it’s posted on either whitehouse.gov, or one of the news sites. Hell, it may be on YouTube for all I know.

I had read the text of the speech on the White House webpage last night, so I pretty much knew what he was going to say.

I just don’t see what all the fuss was about. If the president was telling kids to rebel against their parents, then I’d see parents getting all worked up. But that’s not what the speech was about.

Why do people fear what they don’t want to understand? Knowledge is power… the key to everything. I don’t know everything, that’s why at age 45 I’m back in school. I like to learn new things.

Even things that other people don’t agree with. After all, I’m not a mushroom. I don’t want to be kept in the dark and fed BS.

It’s not a pretty world out there. But the more one knows about it, the more one can do to make it a better place.

=====

I know, I know… I talked about that more than I intended to. Sorry. Again, I don’t see what the fuss is about. I’m not naive, I know that the so-called Main Stream Media reports on stuff that’s controversial. As I’ve learned about news: if it bleeds (or pisses people off) it leads.

And to think, years and years ago I wanted to be a journalist. I just want to be a good broadcaster. That’s why I went back to school.

Among other things.

That’s all from where I sit.

–MorelaterZ–

2 thoughts on “I’m so freakin’ mad at myself…

  1. indeed if it bleeds it leads…i believe in freedom of speech, and i have a few things to say, but I don’t have the platform to get my rah rah speech in every school. If the president wants to wish the kids well then post it on the Whitehouse website or youtube and notify the schools its available if anyone is interested.

  2. Okay, now that I’m over my shock that you actually left a comment, I have a response.

    I have to concede that you have a point. Maybe the president didn’t HAVE to televise the speech. I still think what he covered in today’s speech was something that kids need to hear. But again, perhaps it could have been recorded and played back at the convenience of any educators who wished to peruse it.

    I’m a student (as you full well know), and I’d like to hear your “rah-rah” speech. I’m sure that it’s full of good advice and might do me a bit of good. Especially during those times I wonder if I’m doing the right thing by going to college vs. getting out and getting a REAL job.

    But we’ll discuss that amongst ourselves at some point.

    Thanks for the comment! You’re a peach!

Leave a Reply

