I’m not going to get into a fight over text/IM/Facebook, etc., about politics

Everyone’s views are so different, that you are bound to piss off someone by saying the wrong thing.

My friend Larry is an Okie Republican. He can’t even talk about the recently passed health care bill without getting mad (or so it seems to me). He likes Sarah Palin, and all those others on the Republican side of the aisle, across from that other group, the Democrats.

All of Oklahoma is like Orange County, California, where I grew up. Once upon a time, I was a Republican. My parents were, so I became one when I turned 18 in 1982. I mean, Orange County is very conservative, very vocal, and if you think differently, well, you may just end up in hell.

Then I started reading stuff, and found out that Republicans weren’t always right. Then again, neither were the Democrats. As I got older, I decided that I was going to vote for people and issues, and not adhere to party lines and shit like that.

And, living in Virginia, in Hampton Roads (Norfolk, Virginia Beach area), we got a lot of hot air from Pat Robertson and his “domain” (so large it has its own freakin’ zip  code). The famous thing was that he claimed that Virginia Beach didn’t get hit by hurricanes is because Robertson used his “pull” with the Almighty to keep them away. I waited in vain for the hurricane that would wipe Regent University and the CBN complex off the map.

(Yes, I realize I’ll probably go to hell for that, but I don’t care. I’ll see Robertson there, too, I’m sure).

I stopped voting down party lines when I lived in Virginia because the church my family attended started handing out voting guides. The Christian Coalition was behind all that mess, telling me to vote for Candidate A because he/she had the values they prized.

Um, don’t think so.

I like to think that the Almighty gave me a brain and the ability to make my own decisions, and certainly don’t need Pat Robertson’s or Jerry Falwell’s advice on who to vote for, thankyouverymuch.

But I staunchly refuse to get into an argument about politics over Yahoo! Mess-up-enger or AIM, or Facebook. I don’t even like to talk about politics because I know that there are people who immerse themselves in political stuff, and I know I can’t hold my own against them. Politics is something that interests me to a certain point; after that, it’s all bullshit, IMHO. I admire people who do and know what they’re talking about (my friend Johanna is real big into local politics where she lives in Washington state. I know more about what’s going on there than I do about what’s going on here in Oklahoma. All I know is that we’re electing a new governor this year.).

And, unless you personally have read all 2100+ pages of the health care bill Obama signed today, don’t even talk to me about it. Even the Cliffs Notes would be 1000 pages. Everyone is making such a big deal about all this, and none of them know exactly what all it entails. The “Tea Party” people want to scare the bejeezus out of everyone, when they probably know very little about it themselves (they depend on “opinion leaders” to know all about it).

Hell, this whole post may be wrong for all I know.

But I’m not going to get into an argument or a flame war over it with those who may disagree with me… or don’t like hearing that I know they don’t know as much as they think they do.

So, if you choose to leave a comment, please be brief, be concise, and if you can’t say what you have to say without profanity, then don’t bother.

And yes, I did use profanity in this post. It’s my blog. I can do that.

I’m just sayin’.

Because that’s Where It’s @ !~

–MorelaterZ–

One thought on “I’m not going to get into a fight over text/IM/Facebook, etc., about politics

  1. Bravo! I’ve been down a similar road in learning about issues vs personalities and agree with you on that point. Now if the majority of people would just go that route…

Leave a Reply

