A funny thing happened on the way to Broadcast Audio Production

I went to the library at school.

That in and of itself is not unusual for me, I had some time to kill, so I went to use a computer to check my email and Facebook accounts.

The thing that happened was when I was on Facebook, I got an instant message (through Facebook) from a guy I really hadn’t spoken to in nearly 30 years.

After a little chit chat, he got down to the reason why he IM’d me. He wanted to apologize for the way he treated me in high school.

Granted, he was the one of the first guys I “dated” in high school…we were in the marching band together and he was a couple of years ahead of me. And yes, at that time, he was kind of what would now be called a “player”, but we were teenagers with raging hormones, what did we know?

And that is what I told him. We were kids. I was not quite 15 at the time. He made the point that he, being older, should have known better, and wanted, after all this time, to make things right.

So I accepted his apology, telling him that I’d forgiven him years ago, because time and maturity tend to heal a lot of hurts suffered in our youth. He said that making the apology made him feel better. I told him I appreciated that. It was a nice gesture on his part. Even if it took thirty years.

I know that in some religions, like Judaism, there are times to make amends (Yom Kippur, but I think it’s way too early in the year for that, and this guy isn’t Jewish); and in twelve step programs, there is a tenet that asks the participant to examine past errors with the help of a sponsor; and making amends for those errors.

Whatever the reason for this man’s confession, I accepted his apology.

Then he tells me that he always thought I was bodacious (I hear that a lot now from certain males of my acquaintance) and a great kisser.

Had I heard that as a fifteen year old, honestly I don’t think I would have been mature enough to understand it, but nice to hear nonetheless. Maybe I wouldn’t have had all those typical teenage girl self esteen issues.

Ahh, the passage of time…

Because that’s Where It’s @ !~

–MorelaterZ–

Leave a Reply

