Did I happen to mention…?

that I got my 10th Anniversary Edition of Disturbed’s “The Sickness” in the mail yesterday?

I have played that CD to death already! This is the CD that I didn’t have, and the 10th Anniversary Edition has two extra songs on it that weren’t on the original recording.

Now if there was just some information about the CD that Disturbed is currently working on (tentatively slated for a summer release), I would be a happily Disturbed girl!

But back to “The Sickness” for a sec…

It has that hard, heavy and aggressive rock that the band is known for, but parts of it sound so late 90’s that you can’t help but notice. That is, if you can remember that far back (and there are some 14, 15 and 16 year olds who probably don’t because they were watching Sesame Street or in kindergarten in 2000 –including my son, Marc).

Out of all the songs that are on all four of the current CDs (and a few that aren’t), I am so glad there is only one “Droppin’ Plates”. If I had to dislike any Disturbed song, that would be the one. This is the one where David Draiman raps, and it just sounds so out of character. Maybe had I heard it when the CD came out ten years ago, I might have a different opinion; but it wasn’t a single (to my knowledge), so I never heard it until I heard it on Pandora and went, “WTF, David?!”

But it’s this song that they got the “Music as a Weapon” tour name from.

So, now I can say that I have all four Disturbed albums that were commercially produced (I’m not counting bootlegs, or soundtracks, or DVDs). Number 5 will be out this summer, hopefully.

And, in case you’re wondering why I’m such a fan… well, about ten years ago, I heard “Stupify” and “Down with the Sickness” on the radio, and was mesmerized by the singer’s voice. I didn’t know it was Disturbed the first few times I’d heard them. Once I knew who the band was, I was hooked. “Believe” was the first CD of theirs I bought. That was in 2002.

In 2005, about a month or so before “Ten Thousand Fists” was released, I saw them in concert (while I was working for CSC doing security at the Ford Center), and I don’t know about you, but seeing a band in concert, doing what they do best, is the best thing in the world. This concert cemented my admiration for Disturbed.

(And, yes, I know the song is “Stupify” and not “Stupified” as written in the post hyperlinked above…)

They were here about a year ago or so, but I was unable to go (I was broke, LOL). So, the next time they come through OKC, I’ll definitely be there!

Whenever THAT will be…

But for now, I’m just waiting for that fifth CD to get finished and released.

Because that’s Where It’s @ !~

–MorelaterZ–

3 thoughts on “Did I happen to mention…?

  1. My name is Piter Jankovich. oOnly want to tell, that your blog is really cool
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    P.S. Sorry for my bad english

  2. It’s not really my hobby, per se. I’ve always liked to write, so blogging about my life in fits and starts seemed like a natural thing for me. I try to keep it updated on a daily basis, but sometimes, real life gets in the way.

    Oh, and your English is fine. I understood what you were trying to say.

    Thanks for stopping by! Come back again soon!

Leave a Reply

