The Angry Young Man

I had to laugh the other day when I sent my friend Larry a link to Daniel’s diatribe from a couple of days ago. He told me that he had read it and that I had an angry son.

You think Daniel has a right to be angry? People who won’t open their minds up enough to take in the opposite view of the one they themselves hold, and calling those with those opposing views names.

What’s wrong with a little mature discussion about what the hell’s going on in this country? It seems that the “grown ups” (i.e. the politicians and their followers/fans/blind leading the freakin’ blind) don’t want to hear what young people like Daniel have to say.

These people are only fooling themselves if they think they have all the answers. I’m of the belief that NO ONE has all the answers, and that includes our Congress and Senate, all the way up to the President. What happened to working together to make this a better country for all of us who live here? Did that ideal get lost along the way.

You could say that it’s like this: “Funny thing happened on the way to Washington–I lost my common sense and the reason the people in my state/district elected me in the first place.”

I don’t like it when people shove their political ideology down my throat, and tell me I’m wrong when I have a differing opinion. Maybe I’m not as politically savvy as you, but dammit, let me express my freakin’ opinion. This is why I don’t vote for parties any more. I vote for the person who I think will do the best job. I’ve been a registered Independant for the last decade.

The thing that kills me is this: if my one little vote in Edmond, Oklahoma is so damn important, then why aren’t you at my front door telling me in person why I should vote for you over your opponent? And the mud slinging and name calling and rhetoric gets old after a while. Just tell me why you’re better than the guy/gal you’re running against without calling him/her names. How freakin’ hard is that?

I’ll tell you why that’s so hard. It’s because I’m a white female over 40. I sure didn’t see Barack Obama at my door telling me why he’s better than John McCain. No one running for office in 2008 was interested in what I had to say, or what I thought, because everyone wanted to get the college vote, or the African-American vote, or the celebrity vote. I am nobody so apparently, my opinions don’t count.

Oklahoma has a governor’s race coming up. The two leading candidates are both middle aged women: Jari Askins (D) and Mary Fallin (R), who’s currently a congresswoman. Will my vote finally be taken into consideration? We’ll see. If these two do end up running against each other, it will be a first in this state– a female governor.

But I digress.

Back to Daniel, my angry son.

He’s pissed off, and has every right to be. Everyone, regardless of age, race, gender or whatever the hell, deserves to express their opinion without being shouted down and called an idiot, or a liberal, or a conservative, or whatever. When you (whomever you may be) spout off your opinion about the political climate in the United States of America, your view isn’t the only view. You may even be (*gasp*) wrong!

Isn’t that what millions of men and women been fighting for in all our wars? The right to express ourselves? Let Daniel, and his peers, have their say. You might be surprised at what you hear. You may even learn something. Wouldn’t that be a kicker?

You could learn a lot from a 26 year old college freshman. He’s not a push over by any stretch of the imagination.

He’s MY son, after all. Apples don’t fall too far from the tree, now do they?

I’m Stef, and this is where it’s @ !~

–MorelaterZ–

Leave a Reply

