You’ve never heard of…?!

Got the weirdest phone call from my friend Pat in Virginia late last night (Saturday).

Starts out okay, but then he asked my what I wanted to do with my degree when I get it. I told him I wanted to get back into radio broadcasting, as I had done that kind of work before and really enjoyed it, and wanted to work in production and promotions, and maybe do a little PR on the side.

He says, “you want to do the FM side of radio, don’t you?”

“Well, yes.”

“Everything’s on AM now. You should consider that.”

I asked, “You mean talk radio.”

“Yes.”

I know that Pat has some definite ideas about politics, just from reading what he posts on Facebook. He probably listens to all those folks who have opinions about everything (Keith Olberman and Glenn Beck especially; I know where O’Reilly stands and sometimes I agree with him, and sometimes not).

I don’t particularly like the direction talk radio is taking, especially since Obama has been in office. It’s like a daily game of “Let’s Diss the President”. No matter what the president does, it’s always wrong according to these people.

When I told Pat that I wanted to stay on the FM music side of the dial, he said something to the effect of that FM radio plays the same songs over and over and over. I agreed, because radio is advertiser driven, and music stations also have to play what’s popular. The DJ doesn’t pick the songs, the management of the company who owns the radio station does. And as I told Pat, “That’s why you hear a lot of Justin Bieber and next to nothing from Disturbed.”

Pat said he’d never heard of either Justin Bieber OR Disturbed. And was proud that he didn’t know who is popular/well-known/getting a lot of press. He’s not getting sucked into the entertainment side of things.

“So you don’t know who Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie are?” I asked, incredulously.

Pat kinda-sorta knows who Brad Pitt is, but he doesn’t know anyone else. “I’m too busy for all that bullsh*t anyway. What a waste of time!”

And this is a guy who entertained professionally for years! He was working as a clown when I met him in 1991 or 1992 (it was before Marc was born at the end of 1993 at any rate).

My question is now, is Pat, at 54 years of age, an old fart?

Even after not having any contact with him for about 12 years, he’s changed in some ways, and still the same in others. When we talk on the phone, he still sounds like the man I met in Virginia Beach all those years ago. I still picture him in my mind looking the same as he did then, even though I’ve seen recent pics of him.

This getting older business is for the birds… I’m not sure I like it all that much. In my heart, I’m still 30 years old, though the rest of my body disagrees.

*sigh*

———-

I’m Stef and this is where it’s @ !~

–MorelaterZ–

ps: still no posted grades for Future News (see previous post). They can’t be that bad, can they?

Leave a Reply

