Stef’s Rants: The “I don’t like being told to ‘shut the fuck up'” Edition

I mean, seriously….

I made a comment on a YouTube video this morning about the first night of the Uproar festival last night in Minneapolia, Minnesota.

I basically issued a challenge to the fans of Avenged Sevenfold (A7X) to stay for Disturbed’s set at the festival. My reasoning was my experience that if you see a band you’re not really a big fan of (I like A7X by the way) in concert, you might become a better fan. In response I got the following:

  • “Shut the fuck up!”
  • “Disturbed sucks live”
  • “As soon as Disturbed has a #1 record, then you can talk.”

(BTW, on this last one, I actually responded with the fact that the last three Disturbed records were #1 upon release, and their current single “Another Way to Die” has been the #1 song on the active rock charts for six weeks.)

Since when did this become a contest? A7X fans practically had a meltdown when I mentioned I liked Disturbed better (thus the comments above). The members of both Disturbed and A7X are friends. If they can get along, why the hell can’t their fans. Music is supposed to unite people, not tear them apart!

Do I like Avenged Sevenfold as much as I do Disturbed? I’d have to be honest and say no. They are a good band and I’ve heard they’re incredible live, but so is Disturbed (who I have seen live one other time). I don’t begrudge A7X fans their loyalty, but be a little more mature about it. Don’t diss people who don’t have the same opinion of the band as you do. There are lots of people who like other bands besides Disturbed, and I don’t call them names or tell them to “Shut the fuck up!”. I’m a little too old for that kind of foolishness.

That said, I’m going to Uproar in Tulsa next month with the mindset that we’re all in this together. Can we all just agree to disagree?

That’s my two cents. It is what it is.

===

I’m Stef and this is where it’s @ !~

Leave a Reply

