Stef’s Asylum review

Even though I had pre ordered the special edition back in July, it has yet to arrive, so I went out yesterday and bought a second copy of Asylum. I ripped it to my computer and downloaded it to the music player on my phone. After listening to it about ten times (no exaggeration!), I’m ready to tell you what I think about it…

I’ve always said that Disturbed has never disappointed me with the quality of music they release, and this is no different. The entire album is pure Disturbed from the opening notes of Remnants to the abrupt ending to the hidden track nicknamed “ishfwilf” (a cover of U2’s I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For, which vocalist David Draiman does justice).

I’d do a review of each song, but I want you to go out and listen to the album for yourself and make your own judgement.

The only song on this album that absolutely caught me off guard was My Child (which I’ve described in a previous post). I had read the lyrics, which had their own effect on me, but combined with the music had me running for cover (the ladies’ room in the Comm building on campus) to compose myself. If you’ve ever been affected by losing a child through miscarriage, then you can probably understand why this effects me so much. Mine was twenty years ago (before my son Scott was conceived), and all that anguish I felt then came to the surface hearing My Child. I thought I had dealt with it back then, but apparently not.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great song, and you can hear the pain in Draiman’s voice as he sings, but I probably won’t be listening to that song as much as others on Asylum, unless I’m alone. If I’m going to lose it, I don’t want it to be in public. Or while driving.

The album is available for download on iTunes, so go check it out. If you like your music a little on the heavy side (or a lot for that matter), give this a listen. You might become a fan…

Leave a Reply

