A gem of a quote…

I received my prize from the Disturbed Street Team yesterday.  It was not only the band’s catalogue, but also a sixth disc that has seven of Disturbed’s hits from the albums previous to Asylum, including an edited version of Down With the Sickness. It seems to me that it’s a radio promo disc.

Since I didn’t have The Sickness before the tenth anniversary edition came out earlier this year, I opened that one to see if the liner notes were similar to the tenth anniversary edition.

They’re not even close.

The liner notes for The Sickness that came out in 2000 doesn’t have the lyrics (as the tenth anniversary edition does), but does have the thank you’s section (Dave thanks, Dan thanks, etc…), whereas the tenth anniversary edition didn’t.

In David’s thank you’s, I found this:

‎”I would like to thank a world that never understood or accepted me, family and friends that never believed in me, lovers who never ceased to torment me, & a God that has one hell of a sense of humor. You all have made me what I am today. Let that weigh heavily on your consciences…”

I posted this as my status on Facebook last night, and it generated a LOT of response, mostly from my Disturbed Morbus Rising friends.

There was more to the quote, but it was a thank you to a deceased friend of  David’s to which he wanted to dedicate his work on the album.

But I read that and went DAMN!

That’s how I’ve felt my whole life, it seems, and David summed it up in just a few lines. Stuff that I actually thought from time to time during my life, David wrote for the world to read! Powerful stuff from a man who was roughly the same age as Daniel is now when The Sickness came out.

And people wonder why I admire the man’s talent so much…

===

I’m Stef and this is where it’s @ !~

Leave a Reply

