True Grit… indeed

True Grit Movie Poster

L to R: Hailee Steinfeld, Jeff Bridges, Matt Damon, Josh Brolin

This movie “date” finally got off the ground last night.

After putting it off since New Years Eve, Chaz and I finally went to see “True Grit” last night.

I loved it! I was really impressed by the young lady who played Mattie, Hailee Steinfeld. She just knocked my proverbial socks off.

Mr. Crankypants (aka Chaz), bitched about how it wasn’t like the 1969 version with John Wayne.  Yes, this one was based on the same book as the 1969 film, but probably more true to it than the John Wayne version.

I’ve seen both versions (though I have not read the book on which they were based), and as much as I liked John Wayne,  this was a great version! You got the feeling that this was Mattie’s story, and not Rooster Cogburn’s. The book, I understand, was a narrative by Mattie as an adult, and that’s how the Coen brothers filmed it.

I highly recommend that you go see this movie. I don’t go to the movies that often, so if I really like something, I’m going to say so.  Even if you’ve seen the original, give this one a look. I think you’ll like what you see.

I generally try to stay away from remakes, because most of the time, they really stink. This is a rare exception.

Moviefone said, “See it!” So, I did. And I’ll say the same thing: SEE IT!

===

I’m Stef and this is where it’s @ !~

One thought on “True Grit… indeed

  1. I totally agree with you on this one! I love that it felt like a story being told all the way through. While I will always like John Wayne I have to admit I was able to see the character and not the actor so I didn’t have to make comparisons. Finally a remake worth seeing.

Leave a Reply

