Paying it forward…

I was in Java Dave’s on Broadway this morning when someone came in and ordered coffee, asking the owner if he could pay for it on Monday. After he left, I offered to pay for the man’s coffee. The owner, Mindy asked, “Are you sure?” I said I was.

Apparently this gentleman had done this in the past, but I wanted to do it because I wanted to pay it forward. It was for all the times that I wish someone had done that for me when I was down on my luck or short of cash. I don’t want the glory, I’m doing it because I want to and I have the means to do so.

And that’s what I told Mindy when she asked if I was sure I wanted to do that. She wrote a note to her employees that the man’s coffee was paid for.

The last time I did that, I did it for a friend I had a class with. He was drinking  just coffee at Denny’s, and when I went to pay my bill, I paid for his coffee, too. The next time I saw him, he thanked me profusely for doing so.

And yes, it made me feel good. We should all help each other when we can.

It reminds me of this hymn that I used to hear at Mass all the time when I was a kid: Whatsoever you do to the least of My brothers, you have also done unto Me.

I don’t care if that man ever thanks me. I know that it was the right thing to do.

===

I’m Stef and this is where it’s @ !

Leave a Reply

