Dear SCOTUS: What the hell were you thinking?

Our esteemed justices of the Supreme Court (eight of them, anyway) have ruled against the father of a fallen soldier by ruling that Westboro Baptist “Church” in Kansas is exercising their First Amendment right to free speech when they protest at military funerals.

Which leads me to ask if the eight justices have lost their collective minds.

Yes, we do have free speech in the United States, but what Westboro does is hate speech. “God hates fags”, “Thank God for Dead Soldiers”, “You will burn in hell” is not what I’d call an informed and rational exchange of ideas. It’s one small group of people telling the whole country to, in essence, fuck off. They’re going to say what they’re going to say, and now by a vote of 8-1 in favor, they’ll probably will say it more often and with much more vitriol.

However, the decision left it up to local communities whether to allow these nutcases anywhere near a funeral, be it for a soldier, or for a child.

If these clueless, insane people show up in my town to protest a funeral, I’ll join the counter protest. This is just wrong, immoral, and sickening. I don’t care what the Supreme Court calls it, it’s still hate speech. They say these things to a) get on TV and b) insult the collective morals and intelligence of whatever community they show up in. 

Maybe they need to have their tires slashed and no one wanting to help them more often to get the point across that we don’t want them here. Period. (The Westboro people had just that done at one funeral they were protesting near McAlester, OK, a few months back. Oh, how I laughed when I read that!)

If I don’t have the right to yell fire in a crowded theater, then Westboro doesn’t have the right to shove their misguided messages in my face. They obviously don’t believe in the same God that I do. My God loves everyone unconditionally. Westboro’s God hates everyone.

Still, what were the eight Supreme Court justices thinking when they decided that “God hates fags, Jews, America” was protected under the First Amendment?

For the life of me, I have no freaking clue.

===

I’m Stef, and this is where it’s @ !~

Leave a Reply

