Does anyone else see the problem with this, or it just me?

Today, the EIGHTH anniversary of the beginning of the so called “War on Terror”, the US is part of an international coalition to enforce a no-fly zone over Libya.

Okay, we already know that Qaddafi is a few sandwiches short of a picnic, and he probably will kill his own people and come up with some off the wall justification for it all, but the US is already fighting two wars in the middle east… why add to it with this nonsense?  Why don’t we just take out Qaddafi and get it over with?

I know, I know… it’s not that simple. I supposed one could argue that if we wanted to take him out, we could have done it years ago. But now we’ve committed troops to do airstrikes to keep the Libyan dictator from lashing out at his own people, because his troops are crushing any gains the resistance/rebels have made.

We’re already AT war…in two different countries over there. We don’t need a third. What are we fighting for anyway? And what will be the end result? More American men and women coming home in body bags and coffins? More coming home with PTSD, missing limbs, and flashbacks?

I didn’t agree with the war on terror when it started eight years ago. It’s still Mr. Bush’s war, as far as I’m concerned. A war started because of misinformation and out and out lies. Remember “weapons of mass destruction” and how there weren’t any? Remember “Mission Accomplished”?

If the mission was “accomplished”, why in the hell are we still there eight years later, and why in the hell are we getting involved with another crazy middle eastern dictator now?

This Libya thing… I fear it won’t end well and we’ll be fighting yet another war.

In December, I’ll have another son who will be eligible for any draft that some misguided lawmaker wants to reinstate. It’s bad enough that Marc will have to register for the Selective Service in December when he turns 18. In 2001, right after 9/11, I told a friend of mine at the time “Watch, this will turn into a war of some kind.” He basically told me I was out of my mind. But I was right, wasn’t I?

In December 2001, my youngest son was eight years old. Going on ten years later, and the war that started eight years ago today rages on. Men and women are still fighting; still coming home in flag draped coffins; still coming home less than whole, or with a host of mental problems.

Don’t you know the war is far from over now
What a stumbling block we’ve fallen over now
As our brothers die defending no one
The war is far from over now

“Sacred Lie” –Disturbed

Ten Thousand Fists (2005)

Sheesh… when are our esteemed leader going to learn that we can’t be the world’s police force.

===

I’m Stef, and this is where it’s @ !~

Leave a Reply

