An open letter to a potential college dropout

Hey you!

Yeah, you!

Look I know that I have no say in the matter, but do you realize what you are doing?

I know, I know… you’re an adult now and can do things for yourself and you think you know it all. After all, college will always be there, right?

You think?

Take it from someone who thought she knew it all. I got married when I was not much older than you are. I had kids. I followed my husband everywhere. And, after 16 years of marriage, I wanted my life back.

I left school to have this so-called “adventure”. Where did it leave me? NOWHERE!

I had young children to raise, I had to work to support my family because my husband was chronically unemployed. Go back to college? When did I have time? Who’d watch the kids?

None of that was happening. So, with my measley high school diploma, I tried to find work. And guess what? Work was HARD to find! All the good jobs were going to people with Bachelor’s and Master’s; while I had the smarts, I had no degree to back them up. 

You, on the other hand, have such potential! What were you, the Salutatorian of your class?  That means you’re pretty damn intelligent, get good grades, could get a great job with a degree backing your knowledge up.

Two semesters later, you’re thinking of leaving school to try and do what? Be a rock star? Bet your parents are proud of you!

I’m a parent, and when my son dropped out of college in 2005, I was really disappointed. He’s so smart! What’s he doing now? Working for $12 an hour, which barely supports him! So I can imagine how disappointed your folks must be, thinking you’re wasting your knowledge.

If I were you, I’d stay in school. Maybe go part time, and work part time. The effort you put into your education will reap great rewards for you in the future. Then maybe pursue your passions, or do it while you’re in school. There is a music program at the University. Look into it a little further than you already have.  You might be surprised at what you find.

But, don’t take my word for it. I left school, too, when I was your age. Know how old I was when I finally went back? Forty-two! That’s a long break! And I regret dropping out every. single. day. Should have done it when I was still relatively young. When I had the stamina for it. But it is what it is.

All I can do is suggest. In the end, the decision is up to you. Will you make the right decision?

Only you know that.

But, hey, thanks for reading this anyway.

Good luck with whatever you decide–

Stef

Leave a Reply

