I am an incredible egotist…

I wrote this and originally posted it to my Google+ page:

I am an incredible egotist… I sit in front of a blank computer screen and see stories that don’t exist; I hear conversations between people who only exist in my imagination; & dream of scenarios that may or may not happen in real life. I am an egotist in that I think that I can write words that other people would want to read. I wrote my first story when I was 4 or 5 years old about astronauts; my third grade teacher told my parents that I had a natural gift for writing.

I’ve been hooked ever since.

Maybe someday, one of my flights of fantasy will be published. Until then, I’ll keep writing because I love it so.

Okay, me again– Writing is one of those things that I love to do when I have the time to spare, yet I banged out a 1500 page manuscript in seven months last year. The follow up is taking much longer because other things have to come first….like school.

I write when I’m upset, depressed, angry, etc., and I feel better getting those feelings out in that manner. I don’t hurt anyone physically or hurt someone’s feelings when I’m out of sorts. I save it, most times, for the keyboard and the blank screen. If I can fill up that screen with my emotions and feel better, then I’ve done my job. I can either delete it or keep it for future reference.

One day, one of my “flights of fantasy” will see the light of day. Until then, it’s all mine.

===

I’m Stef, and this is where it’s @ !~

One thought on “I am an incredible egotist…

  1. Nice post. You know, I feel the same way, and I (often) wonder if I’m suffering under delusions of grandeur when I think people will actually want to read my book once it’s published. But I think writing fiction is one of those things that people either understand or they don’t. I once made the mistake of telling a friend of mine that my characters sometimes talk to me–and then spent about an hour trying to convince her that, no, I don’t really hear voices, and that I’m about as sane as someone who makes up people in her spare time can actually be.

    After all, it’s not her fault that the people in my head are often more interesting than the ones I interact with on a daily basis, now is it?

Leave a Reply

