“No more tears for girls…”

To preface this set of pictures, last week (Oct. 10-14) was Domestic Violence Awareness Week at the University of Central Oklahoma where I attend school. There had been a lot of stuff going on that week with Shack-a-Thon, which called attention to homelessness and food insecurity; Breast Cancer Awareness, and Domestic Violence Awareness.

I just happened upon this bulletin board by chance. As I stood there reading the few statements, quotes, etc., I found myself entranced by all these stories while tears streamed down my face. I couldn’t tear myself away for several moments. I knew I had to take pictures.

 

If you are in a situation where you are being abused, there is help available. If you have children, you especially need to get out. Call the local women’s shelter; the police; a friend; someone you can trust to help you. Many cities have hotlines set up for those in domestic abuse situations.

The number for the National Domestic Violence Hotline is 1−800−799−SAFE (7233)…

You don’t have to live with it anymore. It’s not your fault.

===

I’m Stef, and this is where it’s @ !~

One thought on ““No more tears for girls…”

  1. I agree with you’ve said. But I’d add a minor idea. Not only does she need to leave the abuser, she needs to get therapy. Most women land in abuseful relationships because some horrible person abused them as a child, a father, an uncle or some other shithead. It’s not enough to leave the current abuser, you also have to fix the part inside you that made you attracted to that asshole. And I would plead, as you have, that if you have children then you need the therapy that much more so your kids have a happier life.

    Women have a right to a happy life with people that don’t hurt them. It’s not their fault if some shithead fucked them up when they where 5 or 15 years old. Just get the help you need. You deserve a good life and so do your kids.

Leave a Reply

