I love chocolate chip cookies, but I don’t want to talk about them all the time

Okay, I get that people love things and want to talk about them a lot.

Sometimes, too much.

I’ve gotten beyond the need to pimp my favorite things all the damn time. I know what I love and don’t feel the need to talk incessantly about them.

All. The. Time.

Some people just don’t get it that there is much more to life than what they love. I left a Disturbed fan group on Facebook today because I got tired of the constant posts about things that, while they interest me, don’t take up the majority of my free time. I love Disturbed, make no mistake, but I just don’t feel the need to talk about them all the time. I do that in my podcasts for Morbus Rising.

I have other things on my personal agenda that take priority, and the outpouring of “love” sometimes really starts to sound fake after a while.

For example, Mom’s now in a skilled nursing facility in Midwest City doing rehab on her breathing and her broken hip/leg. I worry about that more than whether I post in a fan group for my favorite band. I worry about the possibility of losing her; I worry about school, money and homework and tests.

So pardon me if I currently don’t share your enthusiasm for Disturbed at this juncture. I’m sure if the band’s members knew what was going on with me, they’d understand.

I have a life beyond the “Children of Disturbed”, Facebook, Twitter, Google+, and even this blog.

In order for my life to run smoothly, I MUST pay attention to other things, like bills.

My mom’s health.

School.

Money (or the lack thereof).

And so on…

Chocolate chip cookies sound really good right now.

But I’m not going to talk your ear off about them. Is that OKAY with you?

===

I’m Stef, and this is where it’s @ !~

Leave a Reply

