Pick myself up, dust myself off, and keep on truckin’

So this is how this story goes:

Thursday, I had my oral exam in Spanish II, and I wasn’t completely confident I’d do well, so I arrived at school at the usual time. I got off the bus near the NIgh Center and was talking to another rider who was heading in the same direction.

I tripped on an raised patch of grass, lost my balance, and landed chest first into the dirt. The pain was excruciating!

After I got helped up, I knew something wasn’t right because the whole right side of my body was incredibly sore, but I told the person who helped me up that I was okay, and went about the business of doing some last minute boning up for the oral exam.

I got an 85 on my exam, which made my day, considering how it began.

But, shit, I was hurting big time.

I did manage to fall asleep on one of the comfy couches in the library for about an hour, but though I felt refreshed, my chest was still sore as anything.

I headed to the newsroom to work on the last newscast of the semester, and I asked if anyone had any Tylenol or something. One gal did have Extra Strength Tylenol, and she gave me two caplets.

I took them, but they really didn’t help all that much. But I got through the newscast and called it a semester (though I still have another week of Spanish and my internship at KJ103 to do).

Friday I did manage to get out for a bit, but my original plan to go to the store was put on hold because I knew I couldn’t carry anything home because my chest still hurt.

I didn’t do anything Saturday except sleep and work on a paper for Spanish class. Scott  drove me and Jeff to the store after I talked to Dean about what I could do about my pain, because it made doing simple  things like getting dressed, bending over to do stuff, and sleeping next to impossible. He suggested that I may have strained my pectoral muscles on the right side, and recommended ibuprofin (4 tablets -all at once- three times a  day for a week). Since I didn’t have any on hand is what prefaced the trip to the store. Well, that and dinner.

I’ve already resigned myself to the fact that I will be in pain for several days. I just want to get this semester over with, graduate, and look for work with my shiny new Bachelor of Arts degree in Broadcasting.

I think I will go to bed now.

===

I’m Stef, and this is where it’s @ !~

Leave a Reply

