A little light reading

image

Picked this bad boy up at the Friends of the Metropolitan Library book sale at the fairgrounds last weekend, along with a couple of other science type books. Either I miss school a lot, or I got turned back on to Earth Science from a couple of different sources (former instructors, specifically).

When I was at Rose State, I took a class called “The History of Life on Earth”. I really enjoyed it and got a halfway decent grade in the class. The professor who taught the class was around my age now (+/- 5 years), and she was knowledgeable and made the class fun.

At UCO, one of the required core classes for my degree was to take Biology and the accompanying lab. It took me three years to finally find a Biology class AND a lab available at the same time. I did all right in the Biology class, but found out that the lab was essentially a separate class, taught by a grad student. Mine met once a week on Wednesdays at 9am, and was taught by a grad student named Jeremy. He a little bit more serious than the professor at Rose State, but was able to keep the class’ attention. I liked the lab better than the actual Biology class, and Jeremy was an excellent instructor. If that’s what he wants to do with his Masters, then he’s got it made. He’s a born teacher. Whatever he wants to do with his education, I hope that he succeeds and sets the scientific world on its ear.

Meanwhile, I’ll reacquaint myself with continental drift, the layers of the atmosphere, and how earthquakes occur (among other things).

Who’da thought that I would find science fun at my age!

===

I’m Stef and this is where it’s @ !~

Leave a Reply

