There are just some things I don’t get

And I’m pretty sure I don’t want to get it…

Take Japanese anime for example. Last night, Marc, Jeff and Daniel were watching this anime called “Sword Art Online”, or SAO. From what I saw of it, it just seems pretty weird. The premise, as far as I can tell, is that the players of a game called Sword Art Online are trapped within the game by its creator, who apparently has a serious God Complex, and the only way to escape is to beat the game. If they die in the game, they also die in real life.

What were the people responsible for this series smoking when they dreamed this up?

Actually, I could say that about most Japanese anime. There are some I do like, but most of it is just weird.

I like weird, but if I have to suspend belief in order for me to like it, it may just be a little too bizarre for me.

And maybe I’m just old and set in my weird ways. My idea of weird is obviously different than that of the creators of Japanese anime.

And don’t get me started on manga…

I’ve written some pretty weird shit in my time, but this stuff isn’t even on my radar. And there’s already a “trapped in a video game” story out there. You know, “Tron”…I think it came out in 1982, when I was 18.

But hey, if you like it, more power to ya! Count me out. I’ll be a good weird girl and stick to my heavy metal music and my futuristic, sometimes violent, alternate reality writings.

===

I’m Stef and this is where it’s @ !~

Leave a Reply

