Dust in the Wind

I saw pictures taken in some mountains out west somewhere that were strikingly beautiful, it made me realize we are just some blip on the cosmic radar screen.

Life on this planet has been going on for millions of years before I showed up, and will go on for millions of years after I breathe my last, and my life, however long it lasts, is just a small drop in an endless sea.

In the grand scheme of things, my struggles, my problems, my triumphs and failures, are really insignificant, aren’t they? Yet, the are the center of my personal universe. How does one reconcile that with all of everything and everyone that has ever existed?

Maybe you don’t. Maybe I’ll never have the answers to that. Maybe I should stop waxing philosophical and just live my life.

Like hell…

I’ve always lived my life as I saw fit, and will continue on that course, no matter how many people I piss off. Maybe I don’t live my life like everyone else. As a popular meme states: “I tried normal once, worst (insert appropriate amount of time here) of my life.”

But these pictures I saw… Natures beauty simply astounds me. I’d like to keep it that way and not spoil it. There are conservationists, tree huggers, and biologists working right now to save all that precious beauty. I wish I could help in that regard in more ways than making sure that trash makes it into the trash can and recycle, reduce and reuse as much as possible. I’m not a biologist, but I can do my part…whatever that is.

Life…is just so much dust in the wind.

(and for those of us in a certain age range, cue up that Kansas song!)

===

I’m Stef, and this is where it’s @ !~

Leave a Reply

