Wait! This still happens in 2015?!

About the OU fraternity that was caught on video singing a racist chant:

DISCLAIMER: I am not an alumna of the University of Oklahoma, nor have I have been  involved with a Greek organization.

Fraternities and sororities are not bad organizations. They can enhance a student’s college experience, looks good on resumes, etc. My sister was in a sorority when she was in college in the mid 80s; I seem to recall it being a good experience for her; however, it was never really an option for me as my college experience came later in life. I’d actually encourage membership in a Greek organization to an incoming college freshman if that was their thing.

That said, I am totally disgusted by the video that has made the rounds on the internet showing the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity singing a racist chant. It is 2015, we should be beyond this! It saddens me that this type of behavior is still happening in this day and age. We are better than this.

I applaud OU President David Boren’s swift action in this matter. Those frat members do NOT deserve to call themselves Sooners. They have made the University of Oklahoma the subject of national attention they can ill afford to have. SAE’s national organization has suspended OU’s chapter, and all members must be out of the fraternity’s house by midnight tomorrow.

There is no room anywhere for bigots and racists, and the fact that this happened the same weekend as the 50th anniversary of  “Bloody Sunday”, the Selma to Montgomery march (March 7, 1965), is as ironic as it gets. While I hope that the affected students can finish their collegiate careers elsewhere, I can only wonder how easy it will be for them to find other schools to attend.

This truly saddens me. It disgusts me. But if we as a society can rise above it and become better human beings, then let’s do it. It doesn’t matter what school you attended or what affiliations you have. It’s 2015, people– let’s finally get this right.

Just my thoughts.

===

I’m Stef and this is where it’s @ !~

#whereitsat

Leave a Reply

