Legal stuff re: Mom’s house

Jeff knocks on my door this morning to tell me that Tori was coming to pick me up in an hour to sign some legal papers in regards to the sale of Mom’s house.

Fortunately, it didn’t take me that long to get ready, seeing that I was already awake (thanks, Salem).

So Tori comes to get me and I got to see her new Cadillac SRX, and made the comment that she was “an old Italian lady in a Cadillac”.

She’ll be 50 next month. Hardly “an old Italian lady”.

She hasn’t figured out all the bells and whistles on her car yet. She was excited about having a back up camera, though!

We go off to the lawyer’s office, which after finally finding it, was so close to where I live I could have taken the bus there! It was on the freakin bus route.

We see the attorney about signing these legal papers, and there’s really nothing to it. We get explanations about what they are trying to accomplish and sign them. Essentially we were agreeing that Dean was representing Mom’s estate, that the house was the only real asset, and that any creditors had two months to make any claims against the estate. The whole process should be over, done with, and wrapped with a pretty bow by July.

I’m not expecting any money from the sale of the house. If I do get something, it’d be nice. But it would be unrealistic to expect anything.

The lawyer was going to court this afternoon, and Tori & I will get something in the mail (I’m assuming) regarding what happened, and what the next step is (besides waiting).

All in all, I think we were in and out in less than an hour.

It was a nice break in my non-routine. Back to the business of being the 2015 version of me.

Yay.

===

I’m Stef and this is where it’s @ !~

#whereitsat

Leave a Reply

