Stef: a work in progress- 2015 edition

On Wednesday, I found myself in Target, and I decided that I was going to try on a pair of jeans to decide what size to buy, since my current size is now woefully too big.

Usually, whatever size I wore had a “W” after it (24 W, 22 W, etc.). So for laughs, I decided to try on a pair that was a straight size and not a plus size.

I took 2 pairs into the dressing room with me; one in a size 16 short, and the other in a 14 regular.

I honestly didn’t think the 14s would fit. So I tried on the 16s.

Good news: they fit me! Bad news: they’re made for a 21 year old, because when I bent over, all kinds of me was on display that I don’t want people to see.

Therefore, not worth the $30 pricetag.

The 14s I could get on, and I could zip them up, but I looked like a sausage.

I think I’ll stick to the sizes that have the W after them, as they’re a little roomier than the regular sizes.

My other problem with jeans is that they all seem to be designed to fit somewhere around the hips, and not the waist. And almost none of them are made for people like me with short legs, because if they fit in the hips, the crotch lands about a quarter of the way down the inside of my legs, and that’s rather unappealing and uncomfortable.

Who’s designing these jeans? Whoever they are, they’re all about six feet tall with legs that go on for days, and that’s something I’ve never had. I’m only 5 foot 6 and have a 27 inch inseam. I’ve never owned a pair of jeans that fit my waist AND my hips at the same time; if they fit in the waist, the hips are too small. If they fit in the hips, the waist is too big. I just can’t win!

And apparently, they don’t make jeans that fit in the waist anymore. Granted, I have lost a lot of weight, but I don’t want jeans that show off all the things I’m trying to hide (like sagging skin and undergarments).

Also: when I wore a 24W, there never seemed to be any to buy because other women my size would beat me to them. Now that I’m a 16W, 24Ws are all over the place…and the 16Ws are in short supply.

Again, I just can’t win!

I just want to look nice and put together, and not like a slob. I would like to get a job and go on dates and feel confident in doing so.

I’m still just a work in progress.

===

I’m Stef and this is where it’s @ !~

#whereitsat

Leave a Reply

