The hiatus is over

…and my favorite band of metal rockers, Disturbed, have a new album coming out in a little over a month (August 21st)!

There’s already a single and video out for a song called The Vengeful One…I’ve heard it and it abso-effin-lutely kicks ass! The video is a little, um, violent, but it gets the point across.

The announcement of the new album, titled Immortalized, was a complete surprise to most fans. There had been rumors that the guys were in Vegas recording, but hearing nothing official from the band, I pretty much wrote it off to wishful thinking. Turns out they’ve been writing new stuff since January of this year, and did a good job keeping it a secret. It was a nice surprise, to say the least.

Then frontman David Draiman deleted his Twitter account due to internet trolls making threats against him and his family. He’s a dad now (his son, Sam, will be 2 in September), and he’s going to do everything he can to protect his boy. If that means deleting himself from social media, so be it.

Now, they’re going to play a show in the band’s hometown of Chicago the same day the album drops on August 21…and I already know I won’t be able to go. One, I don’t have the funds to spare right now; and two, because of my health issues of late, I probably should stick  close to home. Three, I probably won’t be taking any solo car trips for the foreseeable future, so I’d have to find alternate ways to get to out of state shows. Flying doesn’t thrill me, and there is no way I’m taking a Greyhound bus. Train? I’d have to look into that option, if by some miracle I come into a little cash to make such a trip possible. I have been to Chicago on the train, but that was 15 years ago!

There probably won’t be a tour until after the first of the year, but David and guitarist Dan Donegan are in Europe promoting the album’s release there. Generally, places like Europe and Australia will be the first to get their hands on an album before us here in the U.S.

So, my middle aged metal lovin’ heart is deliriously happy right now!

===

I’m Stef and this is where it’s @ !~

#whereitsat

Leave a Reply

