An open letter…

Dear Chrissie Hynde:

I take offense to your recent comments about rape, saying that rape victims should take responsibility for what happened to them. Last i checked, rape was a crime, so why in the hell should i take “responsibility” for anothers actions? Rape is not a sex thing, it’s a control thing. It’s a crime perpetrated against someone, against their will. If one cannot consent due to age or handicap, it’s rape. It’s that simple. I simply refuse to take responsibility for a crime that was committed against me. No one asks to be raped.

Now, I’d like to say that I’ve enjoyed your music over the years, and still will. But your recent comments were out of line. If YOU want to take responsibility for your rape, fine. But you don’t have to. Far too many rape victims don’t report the crime because they feel victimized a second time by the police, so the rapist is still out there victimizing others, and will continue to do so until someone says enough!

I’m not asking you to apologize for your comments, because you clearly had a reason to make them in the first place. They may have even been taken out of context. But as they stand, they are reprehensible.

Just my opinion. Neither you nor anyone reading this have to agree with me. I’ve had my say.

Take care.

-Stephanie

===

I’m Stef and this is where it’s @ !~

#whereitsat

Leave a Reply

