Adventures at the Nazih Zudhi Transplant Institute- Integris Baptist Medical Center

(Part 7-b)

Finally had my appointment Thursday, but not without a little misunderstanding.

I was scheduled for two ultrasounds, but since I just had a CT scan just a few days before, I asked if it was really necessary. A few phone calls later, it was determined that the CT scan would suffice.

OK fine. I took care of that question over the phone the day before.

But since I also had blood drawn at the ER, did I really need blood drawn again? I asked that when I got there for my appointment that I thought was at 11:30.

I was told (again after a few phone calls), that there were two blood tests that I still had to have because the ER didn’t do them (they didn’t have to). So off I went to the lab. Before I left, I was told my appointment was really at 2pm.

I had the blood draw, and then we (Scott drove me there) had two hours to kill. So we went down Northwest Expressway to Penn Square Mall.

Where, after a few minutes of walking, I was exhausted. We did see a nice impromptu performance by some high school kids singing the National Anthem.

And almost no one stood while it was being sung, except those who were already standing, and one elderly gent who got up from his chair and stood at attention the entire performance. Scott and I were on an upper level, and by the time we got down to the lower level, the gentleman was gone. I’d kinda wanted to thank him for standing for the entire Anthem.

Anyway…

Scott and I were walking around, and I just had to sit. My mall tramping around days are on hold, I guess. Scott went off to do something and I sat and doodled around on my tablet using the mall’s free wi-fi.

After a very cheap lunch (we split a small sub from Subway), we headed back to the liver clinic.

I got weighed and measured (I’m still 5’6″) then I went into the exam room to await the physicians assistant I was scheduled to see.

If this gal was older than 35, I’d be very surprised. She looked so young!

We discussed my trips to the ER, explained in detail what the CT found (blood clots, gall stones, enlarged spleen), she reminded me that I really need to see my ob-gyn about this cyst in my lower abdomen. I told her it doesn’t bother me (and it doesn’t. I didn’t even know it was there until my trip to the hospital in January).

She went over my numbers…a little on the high side but normal for me. My blood pressure is still ridiculously low. But again, normal for me.

We went over my MELD score. The MELD score determines my likelihood for a liver transplant. It’s a scale that measures the likelihood of a liver transplant from 6 to 40. My score was at 11. That means I am on the low end of the scale, so we will not be talking about a liver transplant for the immediate future. We’re going to keep an eye on it to make sure that it does not increase.

I’m also going to speak with a nutritionist. Because I’m not having such great luck keeping my sodium levels down though it’s much improved since I’ve keeping an eye on it, checking labels and making sure that I stay under 2,000 milligrams of sodium per day. I find that I really need a little bit more help and guidance in this area. But that won’t be until my next appointment.

The doctor called in a renewal of my prescription for Lactulose. When my other prescriptions run out all I need to do is ask the pharmacy to call her and she will renew them over the phone for me.

So all in all, I’m doing pretty well and we’re going to keep an eye on the things that need to be looked after. I’ll need to come back next month for a follow up on a test I had last October when I was hospitalized after I vomited blood. Just to make sure everything there is still doing all right.

Then come back for another check up in December.

Now, let’s see if I can stay out of the ER until then…lol

===

I’m Stef and this is where it’s @ !~

#whereitsat

Leave a Reply

