Well…

I apparently offended people last night on Twitter for making an observation in regards to how old is too old to keep breastfeeding.

Personally, I do not have a problem with women who breastfeed. I breastfed my kids, briefly, 30 plus years ago. All I said was that I thought that 18 months was too long. I never said anything to the mother to make her feel bad about what she was doing. I figure that’s her business.

I got slammed by young women for being “a bully” for having an opinion about it. Every time I tried to defend myself, I got more and more angry tweets from these women.

Okay, I get it. But there is a big difference between “education”, which these women insisted they were doing, and harassment, which I felt was actually happening.

Good forbid I actually have an opinion on something!

I made a simple observation. My mistake was posting it on social media. I had no idea how militant some of these women are about this subject. It reminds me of the hateful messages that some heavy metal fans put out if you don’t like their favorite band like they do.

If just one of these women were nice about it, perhaps if they said, hey Stef, I want to let you know things have changed in 33 years, and this is the recommended length of time a mom should breastfeed now, I might have taken it under advisement. But to bully me because I don’t think the same as as they do is going about it the wrong way. My father used to say that you get more flies with honey than vinegar. A little niceness goes a long way.

Now, what I really think– if you wish to, and there’s nothing physically preventing you from doing so (some women just can’t, even though they want to), then go for it for the recommended timeframe your child’s physician suggests. Don’t give those who choose not to a hard time about not doing so. That’s a personal decision that only the mom in question should make.

And if someone like me, who is long finished with having children, has a question or makes an observation you don’t agree with…educate, don’t bully.

Just my 2 cents. Maybe I’m just an old fart, but I’m not ignorant. I am open to learning about something I may not have all the pieces of the puzzle to.

What do you readers think?

===

Leave a Reply

