Another trip to the “health spa”

Welp, the pleural effusion got a whole lot worse. And I don’t think I ever had bronchitis because I just didn’t feel bad enough (and I had it a lot as a kid, so I’d know). I just couldn’t effin breathe!

So of to the ER, again, to explain my sad tale of woe: came on Feb. 13, diagnosed with bronchitis and sent home with a bunch of prescriptions that essentially did nothing. I can’t breathe. 

So many tests later, my right lung is surrounded by fluid, my platelets are ridiculously low, and I’m admitted to the hospital. Where they can’t decide whether to keep me in Edmond or send me to Baptist in OKC. I said I’d go to Baptist, but was kept in Edmond instead. 

So I’m given oxygen to keep my brain from frying from not getting enough, and all I want to do is sleep. Of course, no sleep was to be had the first night. 

Then I was told that someone from Baptist was coming to do the thoracentesis (the removal of the fluid from around my lung), but no set time table as to when they’d be there. All I know is that if they’re coming, I was to get a platelet transfusion because the one from the night before lasted all of 30 minutes, leaving my platelet count lower than when I was admitted. 

When I had this condition two years ago, the thoracentesis was a relatively painless procedure. This time, though, I was on my own personal ring on Dante’s inferno. It hurt like hell, and even now 4 days later, is still sore. I had to have morphine for the pain, which totally knocked me out. 

Now, I feel like I’m coming down with something and I’m dizzy to the point of passing out. Plus, I’m still having trouble breathing, just not as bad as it had been. I went out yesterday, which was a big mistake because it only made me feel worse. 

Those people at Integris are going to be so sick of me… they probably already are. 

===

I’m Stef, and this is where it’s @ !~

Leave a Reply

